## The First Baptist Church, Owenton

**Author Unknown** 

From

## A History of Owen County Baptist Association and Its Churches

www.nkyviews.com



## FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH

We learn from Dr. J. H. Spencers' "History of Kentucky Baptists" that this church was constituted in 1829, and Cornelius Duvall was its first pastor serving very acceptably for about twelve years. It is recorded in the Owen County Clerk's Office that, "David Lett and Polly, his wife, conveyed to Thomas A. Berryman and William H. Suter, trustees of the church, Lot No. 1 in Owenton for the consideration of \$30.00," and this is the same lot upon which the present building stands.

The present building is the third one to be built. The first was blown down during a storm and the second was destroyed by fire and the minutes were burned. On the 27th day of December 1896, the present building was dedicated.

The following pastors have served the church in the order named:

J. M. Frost
W. L. Germane 8 months
W. H. Williams11 months
M. M. Riley4 months
J. W. Waldrop 2 years, 6 months
C. G. Skillman year, 8 months
J. U. Riley 1 year, 10 months
A. F. Baker year
J. Pike Powers 3 years, 3 months
G. W. Perryman2 years, 8 months
Porter 4 years
I R Moody I vear, 8 months
J. H. Anderson 5 years, 10 months

W. E. Mitchell2 years	
B. F. Swindler	
J. W. Thompson7 years,	9 months
W. T. Bowden	
W. C. Sale	
J. E. Baird	
A. L. Gillespie 3 years	
H. L. Green	
Tom Pearce 3 years	

The three living former pastors – Brother A. L. Gillespie-missionary in Azaha, Japan; Brother H. L. Green – retired; and Brother Tom Pearce is pastor in Louisville, Kentucky.

There have been three parsonages. The first one was purchased in 1881 at a cost of \$1,800.00. It was erected on Perry Street and is now the home of Mr. and Mrs. Leon Young. The second was on North Adams and is now the residence of Marvin Ray Stewart and family. The present one is also on North Adams.

The first pipe organ in the county was used in this church in 1896, and Miss Anna Lee True was the organist. Other organists who have been faithful through the years were: Miss Ruth Bryan, Mrs. K. S. McBee, Mrs. A. W. Thomas, Mrs. R. H. Littrell and Marvin Ray Stewart.

The church has ordained two native sons to the ministry-Mr. J. B. Head and Dr. George Redding.

Our present board of deacons consist of Floyd Gaines, R. G. Nixon, Charles Carter, Charles Brumback, Raymond Clifton, James Miller, Al Wiley, Howard Gaines, Dupey Dickerson, Cy Greene, Roy Cobb, Colby Lee Forsee and Bobby Walker.

In addition to the leaders previously mentioned are such outstanding Christians as Miss Katie Bryan - Primary leader for many years; Mrs. Lyda Sullivan Forsee - who prepared the Lord's supper for over 30 years; Mr. G. W. Forsee who was church clerk and Sunday School teacher for a record number of years; Mrs. J. E. Baird who helped organize the first Sunbeam Band and was active in W. M. U. work; Mrs. K. S. Mc Bee for her long record as organist and service in W. M. U. work and service as Superintendent of the Beginner Department from 1905 to 1958; Mr. J. B. Holbrook for his long tenure as deacon and Sunday School Superintendent; Mr. S. T. Ball - deacon and Sunday School teacher for many years; Mr. W. T. Forsee - Training Union Director, deacon and treasurer for many years; Mrs. Kate Gray Botts and Mrs. Florence Gray Vaught organized the first W. M. S. around 1900.

The church was founded on faith in Jesus Christ and had continued to serve the community in this endeavor.