## The Flarmony Baptist Church



## A History of Owen County Baptist Association and Its Churches

www.nkyviews.com



BRIEF HISTORY OF HARMONY BAPTIST CHURCH

Harmony Baptist Church is located about three miles on a road leading from KY 227 in the southern part of Owen County, near the Scott County line. It is in a valley on the Elm Lick Fork of Cedar Creek. It was constituted in the spring of 1839 by Elders J. D. Black and James H. Duvall, with twelve members—six males and six females. As to who they were, we have no record; except, in the list of member's names recorded, there are the names of John Wise and Samuel Wise who were members in 1839. In a copy of the Owen County Baptist dated April, 1914, editor—in—chief Reverend J. W. Waldrop quotes, "Samuel Boone, one of the members in the original constitution and first deacon of this church, was a nephew of the celebrated Daniel Boone who figures so largely in the early settlement of Kentucky. He later moved to Clark County where he lived to be an old man." This church numbers among her convert some who, perhaps, could measure in iniquity with the tallest sons of Adam's fallen race, who now take praise of God's glorious grace, walk meekly and humbly in the path of the just.

At the first annual meeting of the Franklin Association, after the constitution of this church, she became a member and remained so until September, 1884, when she joined the Owen County Association. It was constituted in the home of Samuel Boone and having no house of worship they set about to build a house. The neighborhood was so sparsely settled that it was thought that a house 22 by 28 feet was large enough; but it was soon discovered that it was not large enough so during the year a very neat and comfortable frame building, 40 by 50 feet was finished entirely free of debt. There were five members added to the church by baptism on the day of her constitution.

Elder James E. Duvall was called to the pastorate. In the year 1842, about fifty precious souls were added on profession of faith in Christ and were immersed into the fellowship of the church as the fruits of his labor. Elder Duvall was about fifty years of age at that time and had been preaching for about twenty-five years. His voice was full of melody and his exhortations were frequently weighty and powerful, causing a sinner to tremble and inquire, "What must I do to be saved?" He received little aid from the church and maintained his family chiefly by the practice of medicine.

Elder Elisha Cobb was the next pastor. It was said of him that he could not boast of having stored his mind with the learned member of any modern Gamaliel, but he certainly had a pretty extensive knowledge of that book which presents Christ as the author of eternal salvation to the believing sinner. Elder Joseph Barbee was the pastor in 1848. He was originally a Methodist, yet after much consideration and prayer, he united with the Baptist Church. Elder Henry Ballard served as pastor in 1849. Elder Benjamin Quinn in 1850 and 1851. The church had seventy members at this time; and she was faithful in the maintenance of discipline, nobly contending for the supremacy of the scriptures pertaining to faith and practice. She has, however, adopted the practice of choosing her deacons annually, which is of doubtful propriety and without Scriptural Authority, which she will be ready to abandon whenever convinced of her error. She had set her seal of disapproval on the modern practice of dancing as being inconsistent with the profession of christianity, and when she has failed, after faithful admonition and entreaty, to induce her members to abandon it, she has felt it her painful duty to cut them off from their connection with the church.

Others who have served the church as pastors are: Tim Cobb, Jim Clark, William Cobb, J. A. Head, J. T. Burton, James Peters, J. A. Lee, Paul Luttrell, Lewis N. Thompson, I. W. Manley, T. A. Spicer, J. S. Thompson, L. E. Curry, E. Woodruff, Odell Clay, Finley Ray, Harold Eaton, Eric Clark (now serving as missionary in Kenya, Africa) 1965, Robert Cinnamond and others.

Milford Luttrell and B. F. Wiley served the church as moderators for the longest terms. Some of the clerks for long terms were: D. B. Wiley, John Barr, W. H. Redding, G. R. Lee, W. H. Johnson, G. T. Williams and G. D. Wiley. A few of those who have served as deacons are: J. S. Powers, Samuel Wise, John Poe, John Luttrell, Nat Morgan, J. S. Boyd, John Barr, Nelse Powers, Charlie Tackett, N. D. Redding, J. B. Glass, Ruben Carr, Denny Glass, Charles Johnson, Morris Porter, Florian Hawkins and Mason Powers.

The land on which the church now stands was given to the church by James Blythe. In Owen County Courthouse Deed Book K, page 335, it states that it was deeded to Squire M. Clark and Sanford Mc Daniels, trustees, for the sum of one dollar on July 17, 1857. It states that should it not be used for a church it should revert to his heirs. On Sunday, December 7, 1941 (Pearl Harbor Invasion), shortly after church services, the church burned. A new building was soon erected. According to the records, there have been times that were it not for a strong faith in God the doors might have been closed. There have been some 2,000 members with such names, besides those already mentioned, as: Lee, Wiley, Johnson, Barr, Wise, Poe, Southworth, Luttrell, Iacketts, Riddle, Boyd, Redding, Barker, Clark, Featherston, Glass, Mefford, Williams, Porters, Powers, Roberts, Templemans, Bramlettes, Blythes, and many others. Only in eternity will the lives it has touched be revealed.

Some of the families that were serving one hundred and twenty—six years ago still have decendants working in this church proving what the scriputres say: "Train up a child in the way it should go and when it is ald it will not depart from it." There have been, according to records, three men called out from this church to preach the gospel. Rev. J. Allie Lee, Paul Luttrell, and Charles Wiley.

The present clerk is Mrs. Mason Powers. Mrs. Charles Johnson is treasurer.

## ORDINATION OF BRO. J. A. LEE

Bro. John A. Lee was ordained by Harmony Baptist Church on September 13, 1888. Those selected for the council were as follows: Natthaniel Morgan, Charles Tackett, Hedgeman Poe and George D. Wiley from Harmony Church; J. H. Hensley, J. A. Davis, William Agee, William T. Cobb, M. F. Boyle and J. W. Waldrop of Mussel Shoals Church; Helm Glass, W. T. Bell and M. F. Boyle of Caney Fork; T. W. Burford and J. Waldrop of Richland; Joel Cobb of Lusby Mill; John Cobb and E. O'Banion of Beech Grove; John Morgan of Pleasant Grove; Jeff Roland and L. C. Gross of Mt. Hebron; Bro. Lee gave his christian experience and call to the ministry. He was then interrogated as to his beliefs on the Bible, God, Christ, Holy Spirit, the fall of man, the plan of salvation, the gospel, church, the certainty of a true christian being ultimately saved. Council unanimously decided to proceed with the ordination. Ordination sermon was by Reverend J. W. Waldrop. Presentation of Bible by Reverend William Agee. Charge to the candidate by Reverend J. A. Hensley. Ordination prayer by Reverend William Cobb. Laying on of hands by entire council. Benediction by Reverend J. A. Lee.

Copied and Compiled by Mrs. Kenneth Green