New Liberty Baptist Church

Mrs. J. S. Moody

A History of Owen County Baptist Association and Its Churches

www.nkyviews.com



NEW LIBERTY BAPTIST CHURCH

The New Liberty Baptist Church was organized June 23, 1801, at the home of Thomas Brown. It was first called the Baptist Church of the Twins, so named for the streams which run close to the town.

The information comes from Dr. Spencer's history which records: "The first gospel preaching of which we have any record in this section, and that which resulted in the organization of our church, was by that giant of pioneers, that prince of early preachers, William Hickman, Sr. He was among the most active, courageous, and useful band of pioneer preachers that brought the gospel of Jesus Christ to the great valley of the Mississippi." Writing of the great revival of 1800–1803, Elder Hickman says: "In those days, I went down and visited my friends on Eagle Creek, and baptized a number there. Brother John Scott moved among them and has long been their pastor.

There is a record of thirty-nine pastors serving our church. Two of the most renowned, was Elder J. M. Frost, 1864-1869, who became Secretary of Southern Baptist Sunday School Board. Dr. P. E. Burroughs, author. The present pastor, 1965, is Brother George R. Cartwright.

From this church, ten colonies were sent out for the formation of new churches. Sharon, (Carroll County); Harrisburg or Long Ridge; Bramlett; Sparta; Liberty Station or Sanders; Moxley; Poplar Grove; Owenton, and Salem.

The church has occupied four different buildings. First, in the home of Thomas Brown. The first building erected was a long structure built

in 1810. In 1819, on the present site, a new building of brick was completed. On a Saturday night 1936, following a business meeting of that day, it was destroyed by fire. Using the same walls and foundation, it was immediately rebuilt as it stands today. It was noted in 1837, stoves were purchased being the first used by the church. Prior to this, heating was by fire places. In 1929, four Sunday School rooms were added and in 1940 the church was stuccoed to preserve the walls. The educational Sunday School rooms, a pastor's study, with dining and kitchen facilities in the basement.

Our Church has been a faithful and consistent part of Southern Baptist Program. As early as 1905, a missionary society was active. It has supported Sunday School, Vacational Bible School, B.Y.P.U., Training Union, Brotherhood, and various programs of Mission endeavor during its one hundred sixty-four years of existence. There is no way of evaluating what has been accomplished for the glory of GOD, but we who are members of this church thank our GOD and forefathers for the blessings of our heritage.

Pastors of New Liberty Church 1801-1965

John Scott 1801–1833 B. F. Kenny and Hugh Montgomery . 1834–1837 G. W. Cox and	L. D. Alexander1838-1862 B. Garnett1862-1864 J. M. Frost1864-1869
J. E. Kenny	R. L. Wallace 1912-1915 D. H. Howerton 1916-1917 C. W. Henderson 1918-1919 A. K. Johnson 1920-1922 C. E. Brown 1923-1925 C. G. Billups 1926-1931 W. O. Kersey 1932-1933 Lawrence Zarilli 1934 J. F. Estep 1935-1938 E. F. Wright 1939-1944 C. E. Butler 1945-1948 Fulton Bryan 1949-1950 Perry Ginn 1951-1953 Ray Stewart 1958-1960 A. F. Connor 1960-1963
	George R. Cartwright . 1963-

Mrs. J. S. Moody